Basic Facts about In-State Tuition for Undocumented Immigrant Students

Via The National Immigration Law Center

Twelve states currently have laws permitting certain undocumented students who have attended and graduated from their primary and secondary schools to pay the same tuition as their classmates at public institutions of higher education. The states are California, Connecticut, Illinois, Kansas, Maryland, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Washington. In addition, Rhode Island’s Board of Governors for Higher Education voted unanimously to provide access to in-state tuition at the state’s public colleges and universities to certain students, regardless of their immigration status, beginning in 2012.

 Continue reading article

Tags: , ,

One response to “Basic Facts about In-State Tuition for Undocumented Immigrant Students”

  1. tous says :

    Undocumented immigrants with outstanding deportation orders benefited from the 1986 legalization program, and I expect them to qualify under a 2013 immigration reform bill as well. President Obama has ordered ICE to stop deportation of many undocumented immigrants under the prosecutorial discretion program. It makes sense to grant them a path to legal status and U.S. citizenship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: